Top Ten Books of 2016!

Hello, readers!

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

My laptop’s been broken since November, and WordPress mobile is terrible to use, so I haven’t been able to post like I wanted to.

But I’m back and ready to share with you all!

To make up for it, I’m going to try to get a post out every day this week and catch up on what I missed, starting with my top ten books of 2016!

2016 was a great year for books, there’s no doubt about it. I’m really happy with all of the books that I read this year, but for the purpose of this post, I’m only  picking my top ten.

This top ten is in no particular order, because there’s no way I could pick a number one out of these novels.

Let’s get started!


1.) The Last Good Day of the Year by Jessica Warman

20613800

Read: September 5-8

Read my review here!

This book blew me away when I read it, and it still catches my attention every time I look at my bookshelves. I highly recommend this book to any mystery/thriller fans out there!

2.) Places  No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff

26067507

Read: August 4-22

Read my review here!

Gorgeous writing, amazing characters, and an amazing story. This book has everything, and I loved it. I would recommend this book to any person out there searching a different type of YA contemporary.

3.) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany

29069989

Read: July 31

Read my review here!

Surprise, surprise. I loved this book, even though a lot of people hated it after reading it (my best friend hated it after she thought about it more), but it was amazing to me. The characters are my favorite characters in the entire  Harry Potter series, and there was no way it wouldn’t end up on my list. I would recommend this book to everyone. Literally everyone.

4.) I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

25065433

Read: July 4-7

I’m Jandy Nelson trash, honestly. I’ll read any book this woman writes, because her writing is just AMAZING. This one is probably my favorite between the two books she’s written (I think I changed that from what I wrote in my review). It’s so good. I love all of the characters and the story is gorgeously written. I would recommend this book to anyone who’s a fan of YA contemporary.

5.) The Crown by Kiera Cass

26074181

Read: June 25-26

Read my review here!

I loved this book, and if I was doing this in order, it would probably be number two. I know some people were a bit underwhelmed by this book, but it was amazing to me. Like I couldn’t believe how good this conclusion to one of my favorite series is. I’ll probably reread this series at some point this year, and I can’t wait to reread this book.I would recommend this book to someone who isn’t sure they want to finish The Selection series (like my best friend).

6.) The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

Read: May 31-June 4

Read my review here!

How could I not put The Raven Cycle conclusion on this list? I love The Raven Cycle, it’s one of my favorite series, and this book was no exception. I wasn’t too happy with the ending, but I can get over it for the rest of this book.

7.) Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

25614492

Read: May 12-19

Read my review here!

Another author that I’m trash for. I love historical fiction, and Ruta Sepetys is a master historical fiction author. I love her books, and this one caused me a lot of pain. I would recommend this book to anyone who’s a fan of historical fiction (or just a fan of incredible writing).

8.) All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392

Read: March 26-29

Read my review here!

I’m a sucker for books like this. It makes me angry how  much this book falls into the category that I love, but I can’t help it. This book is amazing, and I love it so much. I would recommend this to anyone who loves darker contemporary YA (like me).

9.) The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff

13574710

Read: March 12-19

Read my review here!

Maggie Stiefvater is my favorite author of all time, so it’s no surprise that two of her books made it onto this list. These short stories are some of the best that I’ve read, and Brenna Yovanoff quickly got added to my favorite authors list because of this book. I loved all of the stories in this, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes anthologies, or any of these authors.

10.) Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

9415956

Read: February 2-17

Read my review here!

Yet another author that I am complete and utter trash for. I love Jackson Pearce’s fairytale retellings, and this one was really good. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a twisted take on classic fairytales.


And that’s it for my favorite books of 2016!

It kind of turned into a list of authors that I’m trash for, but I genuinely loved all of these books on this list.

What were your favorite books of 2016? Let me know down in the comments!

I’ll be posting again tomorrow!

See you then!

Leave a Reply

