Reader Problems Book Tag!

Hello, readers!

Happy Tuesday!

For today’s post, I thought I would tell you a little bit about reader problems.

We all have reader problems. From reading slumps (which I’m in a pretty bad one right now) to not knowing which book to read, they happen all the time.

So this book tag is all about reader problems!

Let’s get started!


1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Tbh, this number isn’t even that unrealistic.

I typically decide to read either the book that I bought first while reading my current read, or whatever book has been sitting on my TBR list the longest. Right now, I haven’t made it far enough through my recent purchases to go for the one that been on my TBR the longest (sorry, The Host, I’ll get to you someday!).

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I’ve only given up on one book in my entire life and it was Artemis Fowl when I was in like sixth grade. I have a very serious rule for myself that if I start something, I have to finish it. That goes for everything from writing to TV shows to books. Even if I absolutely hate a book, I will finish it. There are several books that I’ve started but not finished yet, but I fully intend to finish them. Even my two least favorite books of all time (Pride & Prejudice and Before I Fall) I finished in full. So I would be committed to finishing a book, even if I’m just not loving it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Listen…I’ve had a Goodreads account for three years. Each of those three years, I have set my Goodreads goal to fifty books. Do you know how many times I’ve reached that goal? Zero. I try my hardest to meet it every year, but I never quite make it. This year, I might try to read some manga to get those last few in before the end of year, but I don’t have high hopes for making this year either. So no, I don’t usually try to catch up.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

I don’t really care about covers all the much, so I’m just fine with it!

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Ahem, Pride & Prejudice, anyone? Everyone loves it, I hate it, and I don’t really share my feelings with anyone in my real life, so I just rant about on social media to strangers on the internet!

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I literally just cry. Crying in public isn’t exactly a new thing for me, so I just let the tears fall. If anyone asks, it’s chance to tell them about the book!

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book?

Definitely! I love rereading books! I did it so often that I kind of implemented a rule that this year would be the year I don’t reread any books, and I’ve made it so often. But I can’t wait to start rereading all of my favorites again and catch up on some series.

8. You do not want anyone borrowing your books. How do you politely tell them no when they ask?

Everyone knows how crazy I am when it comes to keeping track of my books. I keep a spreadsheet, and all of my books are stamped in two different places with my name. I’ll let people borrow most of my books, but some of them are a definite no and some books I have a personal copy and a borrowing copy. But most people just don’t bother asking anymore, so I don’t really have to tell anyone no.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down five books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Usually I would juts reread something I love, and then go back to new books. This year, I’ve kind of just struggled through any books that I just didn’t feel like reading at that moment.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read. How many do you actually buy?

I buy all my auto-buy authors (I just bought Jennifer Niven’s new book even though I had hardly any money in my bank account lol). And then I’ll probably buy like 7-8 new releases throughout the year.

11. After you’ve bought the new books that you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Only about a month!


And that’s it for my reader problems book tag!

See you on Thursday for another post!

 

Leave a Reply

