Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges Review!

Started: September 8, 2016

Finished: September 12, 2016

Rating: 4 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Andria’s twin sister, Iris, had adoring friends, a cool boyfriend, a wicked car, and a shelf full of soccer trophies. She had everything, in fact—including a drug problem. Six months after Iris’s death, Andria is trying to keep her grades, her friends, and her family from falling apart. But stargazing and books aren’t enough to ward off her guilt that she—the freak with the scary illness and all-black wardrobe—is still here when Iris isn’t. And then there’s Alex Hammond. The boy Andria blames for Iris’s death. The boy she’s unwittingly started swapping lines of poetry and secrets with, even as she tries to keep hating him.


Okay, I don’t even know why I’m putting the summary on this because this summary tells you nothing about this story.

A better summary: Andria, suffering from the loss of her twin sister and the loss of her freedom through epilepsy, lives day to day swapping lines of poetry with the boy who she believes is the reason her sister is dead. Through extra credit and a little bit of healing, they discover the true reasons behind Iris’s addiction and death and find a little bit more of themselves in the pieces she left behind.

Okay, now that you know what this book is actually about, let me tell you what I thought about it.

I liked this book. I thought it was a really nice contemporary read, and it fit right in with the rest of the contemporaries that I gather throughout my book buying.

I went back and forth between giving this three stars and four stars because I liked it, but it’s not like it was a stellar book. It was pretty much just your average darker contemporary read. If I had read this after Places No One Knows, you can bet that it would have gotten three stars. I obviously eventually decided on four stars, and it came down to whether or not I will reread this book at some point. And I have to admit, yes, I probably will.

I liked the plot. Even though it was kind of your generic YA contemporary plot,  I really liked it. I love stories like this generally, and this one just sounded really cool. The plot was generic, and it was very cookie cutter in terms of a contemporary story about drug addiction. Altogether, it was just a nice story to read, but that’s really all I can say about it.

The characters were also all really cool characters. Again, they were very generic and very cookie cutter, but they felt real. I could have met them, at least Trista and Natalie and Alex in a real school. Andria was where the reality sort of left me. It was only in a few places, but there were some things where I just sort of thought that I would never see someone like that in real life. Other than that, the characters were all pretty cool and enjoyable to read about. And apparently there’s another book by Robin Bridges coming out that’s Natalie’s story, and I will definitely be reading that when it’s released.

All in all, this was a nice contemporary read, no more, no less. I liked it, and I’ll probably reread it at some point, but there’s not much more that I can say about it.

Keep reading for a note about this blog!


Hello, readers!

So as the school year is finally in its usual pace, I’ve been thinking about how to keep this blog up and active while I do school work and band and all these other things.

I am now putting Reviews by Hannah on a schedule!

I’ll be posting every Tuesday and Thursday with a book tag, a recommendation post, or some kind of list!

Reviews will continue to be posted either the day I finish the book, or the day after!

Thank you for reading this note, and thank you for reading Reviews by Hannah!


NEXT READ: Priceless: She’s Worth Fighting For by Joel Smallbone and Luke Smallbone

Leave a Reply

