The Cellar by Natasha Preston Review!

Started: September 3, 2016

Finished: September 5, 2016

Rating: 4 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Nothing ever happens in the town of Long Thorpe – that is, until sixteen-year-old Summer Robinson disappears without a trace. No family or police investigation can track her down. Spending months inside the cellar of her kidnapper with several other girls, Summer learns of Colin’s abusive past, and his thoughts of his victims being his family…his perfect, pure flowers. But flowers can’t survive long cut off from the sun, and time is running out…


I’ve been wanting to read The Cellar since I saw it at Target two years ago, and now that I finally have, it’s a bit strange.

I really love books like this. These dark thrillers (usually about kidnapping or a dark event like that) are some of my favorite books ever.

The Cellar reminded me a lot of Stolen by Lucy Christopher, even though I haven’t read Stolen in years. The writing style was kind of similar, except for the point of view. The plot wasn’t similar at all except for the kidnapping aspect, but I did enjoy this book infinitely more than Stolen.

This book was a really fast read because no matter how predictable it was (and it was pretty predictable), it was still very much a page turner. I wanted to know what happened next, even though I felt like I had read many things just like it before. The kidnapper being obsessed with perfection and purity was really the only new thing in this story to me. Nevertheless, I wanted to keep reading because I felt compelled to read more. It wasn’t simply a turn the page, figure it out, and put it down. Natasha Preston hid things throughout the story to keep you turning the pages for more.

The characters were really cut and dry for me. There wasn’t really a character that I connected to, and there wasn’t really a character that I wanted to desperately know more about besides Rose. Rose was a really great character in this novel, and I felt that she deserved to have her story told, but Preston didn’t give us that. I wish I had more information about all of the girls in the cellar, because honestly, Summer was the least interesting one.

All in all, I really liked this book just as another addition to my collection of dark-themed books. It was well-written, I just wish there had been better characters and possibly a more unique plot. It didn’t really stand out to me among its peers, but I will probably read it again sometime in the future.


NEXT READ: The Last Good Day of the Year by Jessica Warman

Leave a Reply

