Nerve by Jeanne Ryan Review!

Started: August 22, 2016

Finished: August 28, 2016

Rating: 4 stars

Genre: YA thriller

Summary (from Goodreads): When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the gameknows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it’s exhilarating–Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they’re directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they’re playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?


Okay, so first order of business: don’t go into this thinking it’s going to be the same as the movie.

Nerve was an anticipated movie release for me this summer, and I’ve seen it twice at this point. I loved it (even though it stressed me out beyond belief). The book I was not quite as thrilled with, even though I did end up giving it four stars.

The book had a very slow exposition to me. It took a long time getting introduced to the characters and to get to the action of the story. This is one of the things that I believe the movie did better, because the movie jumps quickly into the action of Nerve.

The plot wasn’t very exciting to me, and it seemed to drag in places. I constantly found my eyes wandering off the pages while I was reading, and I really didn’t like that. I like plots that move quickly enough to hold my (very short span) attention for long enough that I can focus on it for my reading stints.

The thing that saved this book from a lower rating was the end.

Oh my, was this ending dramatic. It was exciting, it was exhilirating, and I don’t know why the movie didn’t keep some aspects of it. The twist was interesting and I was texting my best friend immediately because I just couldn’t how amazing the ending was. This ending bumped my whole opinion of the book up enough that I could give it four stars without much hesitation.

The characters were great, but also pretty generic for a YA novel. I’ve read so many novels where the protagonist is a quirky seemingly untalented sidekick to the perfect, uber-talented best friend side character and then she meets a dark, mysterious bad boy and “finds herself”. These characters were very generic, so don’t go into this book thinking you’ll get new, unique characters. Far from it, actually. They are very well-written generic characters, but generic characters nonetheless.

All in all, I liked this book. Was it as good as the movie? No. Will I read it again? I’d like to say no, but knowing myself, I probably will at some point in my life. Give it a read if you want to, but just don’t go into it expecting the same story from the movie, because you will be extremely disappointed if you do. But I’ll let you make your judgments on the book’s story. I really liked it at the end, and I hope that everyone who reads it finds some enjoyment in it!


NEXT READ: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

