Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne Review!

Started: July 31, 2016

Finished: July 31, 2016

Rating: 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.


So.

Anyone that knows me knows that I’ve been asking and hoping for a canon next generation story since I read Deathly Hallows in 2008. When I heard about this story, I was ecstatic and had so many hopes and expectations that there was virtually no way that I wasn’t going to be disappointed with this.

Plot twist: I was not disappointed at all.

This story was amazing. And I mean, like absolutely phenomenal. I had heard some bad things going in, so I was really nervous about this story being bad. In my opinion, it was a fantastic story that fit right in with the style and setting of the original Harry Potter books. One thing I really liked was that the plot was actually progressive. It moved throughout the play, there was never a moment where the plot was on pause for some other unrelated thing to happen.

Another thing I really liked was that every character played a role in the plot. They didn’t rely on the other characters to do things for them, and then ride their coattails into the next part of the plot. They all had a role, and none of them overshadowed each other.

And that brings me to another thing that I have to talk about: the characters.

These characters were perfect. They were exactly how I imagined them to be (with the exception of Rose, even though I can see her being the way she was), especially the trio. Harry, Ron, and Hermione were exactly how I pictured them as adults, and as parents. They were fun, and still great friends, but they could be serious when they needed to be.

The other characters, the new ones, were also dazzling. Albus was well-characterized, and true to his character. I actually didn’t like him toward the beginning of the play, but as things went on, he quickly became one of my favorites.

Now that I’ve talked about some of the other characters, let me talk about the one character you all know that I’m going to talk about.

Scorpius Malfoy.

Okay, I’ll go ahead and get this out of the way: Scorpius Malfoy was the best thing ever. Scorpius has been one of my favorite characters for a very long time, but it’s always been based solely in fanfiction and fandom. Now that I have a canon story, I can now officially call Scorpius Malfoy my favorite character.

He was just so wonderful that I can barely put it into words. He was witty, nerdy, and relatable. He was the best character in the story by far, and I can’t imagine the story without him. His characterization was well-developed, and I didn’t have any questions about his character. Out of everything, I felt like I knew Scorpius Malfoy. He felt so familiar to me, and I know that is due to my anticipation of his character and the overall presentation of his character in the story.

All in all, this was absolutely the next generation story that I’ve been waiting for. It was suspenseful, it was interesting, and above all, it was just plain fantastic. I wish I could go out and immediately see the play, but for now, this script will have to do, and I know I will reread it as soon as this year is over and I’m rereading books again. Please give this a read, even if you are uncertain about a continuation of Harry Potter. It’s a great addition to the books, and I think you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

