Top 10 Things I Want to See in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

Hello, readers!

Welcome to day 7 of Harry Potter Week, the final day!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is released in stores tomorrow at midnight, and you can bet that I’m going to be there!

So for today’s post, I’m going to tell you the top 10 things I, a self-proclaimed Harry Potter next generation expert, want to see in Cursed Child.

Just so you know, I have remained spoiler-free about this whole thing (I avoided spoilers like the plague) and everything on this list is completely spoiler-free. If there is something that is actually right about the story, then it is just a happy coincidence.

Let’s get started!


10. Some kind of realistic marital issues (arguments, tension, etc.)

We don’t really see much of this in the original books, and I think Cursed Child (while it’s about all the characters, new and old) could have some kind of marital tension between any of the couples that we encounter in the story.

9. The trio (Harry, Ron, Hermione) playing a major/minor role in the story

This one is difficult, because of course I want to see them play a role in the story that’s pretty big, but we’ve seen enough of them as full major characters. I mean, we have seven books. Let the kids take the major role, but keep the trio in for a somewhat big role, but an otherwise minor part.

8. Rose Weasley be a mix of Ron and Hermione, and not a carbon copy of one of them

This is a trope I see ALL THE TIME in fanfiction, where Rose either takes completely after Ron or completely after Hermione with no trace of the other at all. I want to see Rose with the brains of her mother and the personality of her father. Or the personality of her mother, and the Quidditch skills of her father. Just something that proves she was the product of combined genetics, and not asexual reproduction.

7. Teddy Lupin

This one is probably a long shot because Teddy would have just left Hogwarts as Albus is going in, but I just really want to see him. Even if it’s just a short cameo appearance, I want to see Teddy Lupin.

6. The rest of the Weasley family

By this, I mean the rest of the next generation. Most of them are at Hogwarts by this time, and I just hope we get to see them at least once.

5. Scorpius, Albus, and Rose being friends

Honestly, I feel like this one is a given, but I just really hope that they’re friends. I can’t imagine a next generation story where they’re not.

4. Astoria Malfoy

She’s nowhere to be seen in the character portraits? So I’m wondering if something has happened to her, so I just really want that to be addressed or for her to make an appearance.

3. Harry being a really great dad

I really want Harry to be the kind of dad that James would have been if he had been alive, and I know that’s probably not likely (he’ll be a great dad, but probably not like I’m imagining), but I can dream.

2. Albus being a Slytherin

Slytherin needs some redemption, who’s with me?

1. Scorpius Malfoy being the best thing on Earth

Honestly, I’m so biased about Scorpius because he’s one of my favorite characters, so no matter what he does, he’ll probably be the best thing on Earth to me.


And that’s it for my top 10 things I want to see in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Harry Potter Week and I hope that you’re as excited about Cursed Child as I am!

I’ll be back on Sunday for a post about the Barnes & Noble midnight release party!

See you then!

Leave a Reply

