My Life in the Harry Potter Fandom!

Hello, readers!

Welcome to day 3 of Harry Potter Week!

My name is Hannah, and I have a serious Harry Potter addiction (which I’m sure you already know).

I’m here today to tell you all about my life in the Harry Potter fandom and what it’s done and how much fun I’ve had because of it.

So, let’s get started!


Harry Potter fandom

The year is 2008. I am ten years old, and I have just picked up my first Harry Potter book from the school library.

My first adventure into the Harry Potter fandom began as a quasi-book club with my friend when we both decided to read the series to find out what all the hype was about.

She gave up after book two. I never put them down.

I fell in love with the Wizarding world from the very first page. I had always been a huge book lover, but this was something I had never experienced. This book, this world was such a new concept to my brain that it blew my mind in every way. I kept reading through the series, and I only took a break in the summer because the last two books were constantly on hold in the public library.

That last year of elementary school was one of the best for me. One of my other friends was really into the series as well, and one of my most vivid memories is of us doing a school project where we created a product and had to advertise it to our class. My friend and I did a cereal called “Harry Potter-O’s” and my friend drew the Harry Potter scar on our foreheads with permanent markers. That was a pain to get off, but it’s a fun memory nonetheless.

When I got to sixth grade (middle school), I finally got my hands on the last two books. And that was the end of everything. I was a certified Harry Potter nerd (seriously thats what kids at school called me and it was a few years before I could reclaim that term as my own). In that same year, I lost my best friend that I’d had since kindergarten because she decided that she wanted to grow up and not be associated with me anymore. For the next year, I had one friend (not even a good friend). The only thing that was a constant in my life was Harry Potter.

It was around this time that I started going to youth group at my church, and even there I would sit on my youth minister’s couch and read Harry Potter. I didn’t read any other books and I hardly watched any other movies.

That same pattern continued until eighth grade (just with slightly more friends). The movies were slowly coming to an end, and I was looking for some way to fill the void of the end of Harry Potter.

That’s when I discovered fanfiction.

When I discovered mugglenet.com, and its fanfiction section, I fell in love. Stories about what happens after the end of the series? Stories about Ron and Hermione, my favorite fictional couple at the time? Sign me up!

I started reading fanfiction all the time. Before I had a smartphone, I had a little iPod touch, and I would screenshot fanfiction so I could read it offline and show it to my best fandom friend. I was totally hooked.

I started creating my own fanfiction about halfway through my eighth grade year. I created a fanfiction about my favorite subject, the Harry Potter next generation. I had always been a writer (I’m working on about three novels right now) and fanfiction just seemed like a great way to work with characters that I didn’t have to think about as much.

I switched schools when I went into high school because I wanted a change of scenery, and I kept writing fanfiction and found a ton of people who seemed to understand my life in fandom. I didn’t get enough courage to actually post anything until halfway through my senior year of high school when I finally created my fanfiction account, BouquetOfScoroses. As of today, I’ve posted ten fanfictions on my account and my most popular story has 7,321 views and is currently in a rewrite to make it better. I’ve grown immensely as a writer and I believe that a lot of that is due to the Harry Potter fandom and the fanfiction community.

I am now in college and I am still an active member of the Harry Potter fandom. These books will be the ones that I read to my children before they can read them for themselves. They mean a lot to me, and I hope that everyone can feel the way I did when I first read this magical series.


Thanks for reading My Life in the Harry Potter Fandom! I’ve loved sharing my story with you guys, and I encourage you all to do the same in the comments!

Come back tomorrow for day 4 of Harry Potter week on Reviews by Hannah!

Leave a Reply

