I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Review!

Started: July 4, 2016

Finished: July 7, 2016

Summary (from Goodreads): At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor. The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world.


So, I really loved this book.

I went into this book knowing that I would probably really like it because The Sky is Everywhere is one of my favorite books. When I read that novel, I immediately looked around for more Jandy Nelson novels because I loved her writing and the way that she developed characters. I was so disappointed when I learned that The Sky is Everywhere was her only novel at the time. When I saw that this book was out, I knew that I needed to have it, but I just got around to reading it.

It was just as good as The Sky is Everywhere.

At first, this book was really weird to me. I didn’t really understand the characters at the beginning (like Noah’s quirks and Jude’s bible-thumping), and the story was a little confusing at the very beginning. Once I got used to a new story (going from Red Queen to this story was a big change), I just jumped right in.

The story itself was very reminiscent of other YA contemporary novels, but it’s emphasis on the bond between twins and the dynamic of family made it stand out a bit more. In other novels that I’ve read that are similar to this, romance was center stage and the family took a backseat. In this story, the romance was still very prominent (most of the underlying problem between the twins had to do with romance), but the importance of family seemed to be a more obvious story point.

The characters reminded me of why I loved Jandy Nelson’s writing so much. Jude and Noah were two of my favorite characters that I’ve read this year. They weren’t exactly relatable, but they were real. I could imagine meeting these characters in my real life, and I love when characters are written that way. I wanted to know more about them and that usually a sign of good characterization for me.

All in all, I really liked this book and I was really happy with everything that happened in it. I think The Sky is Everywhere is still my favorite Jandy Nelson book, but this one is worth the read for anyone looking for a fun contemporary read.


NEXT READ: Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

One thought on “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Review!

Leave a Reply

