Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Review!

Started: June 27, 2016

Finished: July 4, 2016

Rating: 4 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


“Rise, Red as the dawn.”

So this book definitely lived up to all of the hype surrounding it. I didn’t really have any big expectations going in because the summary only really gives the general story. I didn’t really know anything about this book when I bought it other than the fact that I had seen it on booktube and it’s been on my TBR list for a while. Once I read the summary and actually bought the book, I was definitely more excited to read it.

I really enjoyed the book as a whole. It was exciting, it was paced well, and the writingwas exceptional. While the pacing was good, there were a couple spots in the beginning where it lagged, but that could be due to exposition and getting used to a new world.

The story was excellent. It was an interesting concept that I’ve never seen before, so it was interesting to see how it all played out. I really like any story about royalty, and I liked that this one was a slightly darker story than most royalty stories. I would have liked a little bit more world-building, but this is a series, so I hope to get more information about the world in the next book.

The characters in this book were amazing. They were so well-written and thoroughly characterized, even the minor characters. My favorite character was (don’t kill me) Maven. I despised him as a person, but as a character he was AMAZING. He was expertly written, and I felt so many emotions about him. He was my favorite character, without a doubt. He was definitely the first character of his type (no spoilers!) that I’ve ever liked.

All in all, I really liked this book and it definitely lives up to the hype. If you’re like me, and are very wary about overhyped books, don’t worry about this book, and give it a try.


NEXT READ: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

