The Crown by Kiera Cass Review!

DISCLAIMER: This is the fifth and final book in The Selection series by Kiera Cass. If you want to read this series and do not wish to be spoiled, then please do not read this review! It is not spoiler-free, so please just turn back if you haven’t read this book! Thank you!

Started: June 25, 2016

Finished: June 26, 2016

Rating: 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone. Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.


I am so blown away by this novel.

Going into this, I didn’t have super high expectations, although I did expect it to be a good conclusion to this series.

It was that and more.

I really enjoyed The Heir, even though Eadlyn was a bit less than likeable in that book. I was unsure going into it because I was so used to America and Maxon’s story, and I didn’t expect this book to be nearly as good as The One.

I was wrong.

I actually enjoyed this book more than The One, and it’s probably my favorite book in the series. I really liked the story and the characters a lot more than in The Heir, and I felt like Kiera Cass’s writing somehow improved in this finale.

The story in this book was well-developed and fast-paced. With only 279 pages to tell the story, something had to be done to make it quick. Even though it was fast-paced, I felt like it was so much longer because of everything that was crammed into the chapters. Usually when events happen in quick succession, the book can feel rushed and overwhelming, but I didn’t feel anything like that while reading this book. I felt excited, anxious to read what was going to happen next.

The story took turns that I definitely didn’t anticipate. I was expecting for a few things to happen with America and for Eadlyn to pick a husband. There were so many other things that happened, from Marid’s selfishness to new revelations about Maxon’s father and his family. There was so much new information, and I was amazed because I thought that everything was closed up for Maxon’s part of the story. Kiera Cass wrote all of this new information really well, and I wasn’t confused by any of it, despite the pace.

The characters were a great part of this story, and probably my favorite part of the book as a whole. My one big complaint about The Heir had been the fact that all of the characters we knew and loved seemed so out of character. America seemed uptight and passive, and Maxon seemed strict and unassuming. In The Crown, I think Cass mended this problem. She gave me back the characters that I adored. America was snappy, and Maxon was powerful but loveable. I loved the newer characters as well, even Eadlyn. I loved all of these characters, and I hate to say goodbye to them.

All in all, I loved this book as a series finale and as its own story. It’s an amazing installment in one of my favorite series, and I don’t know what I’m going to do without this series. If you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend that you do very soon. If you have read this series, let me know what you thought of The Crown in the comments!


NEXT READ: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

