The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater Review!

DISCLAIMER: This is the fourth and final book in The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. This is my absolute favorite series, so I’m not sure I can make it through this without spoilers. If you have not read this book and plan to read it or want to read it, then please do not read any further! Thank you!

Started: May 31, 2016

Finished: June 4, 2016

Rating: 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted. For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him. Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.


Wow.

What can be said about the end of a series that I fell so deeply, madly in love with nearly three years ago?

Maggie Stiefvater has done it again with the final installment in The Raven Cycle series. I was completely blown away by this novel’s beauty and magic.

When I read this series, I always felt like I was being taken away to a world completely unlike my own. This book was no different.

It started out in a way that I had believed it would, and I was immediately taken back into this world, despite not being in it since September 2015. These characters were exactly how I remembered them, and I read this book so quickly because I just felt like I was reading about characters that were my friends.

The story was absolutely breathtaking. It was everything I dreamed of for this novel and more. It was exciting and interesting. While this series is one of my favorite series of all time, it’s no secret that I wasn’t nearly as engulfed in the second and third books as I was in the first. For me, this book was extremely reminiscent of the first book. In a series about time being circular, this is perfect writing.

This story had me captivated by its twists and turns and had me quickly flipping pages just to find out what happened next. The story definitely took twists that I never expected based on what had happened in the previous books, and these twists made the book unpredictable and exciting.

The only thing I didn’t understand about the story was Henry Cheng’s role in it. It seemed as if he was only introduced for the sake of bringing RoboBee into the story. Here was this character, mentioned in passing in the third book, and suddenly he was part of Gansey’s group at the moment that should have belonged to them and them alone, in my opinion. It definitely didn’t take away from my reading experience, I just didn’t really understand why he had such a large role when he had been mentioned in the third book only.

Every single part of the story was incredibly written, but I believe Stiefvater’s raw writing talent shown brightly in the ending of this novel. I flew through the last one hundred pages today while I traveled to a wedding, and the chapters were compelling and absolute page-turners until the very end. I didn’t want to put this book down, and I also never wanted it to end.

All in all, I absolutely loved this final installment of The Raven Cycle and I believe that it is some of Maggie Stiefvater’s finest work to date. None of her novels will ever replace Shiver in my heart, but The Raven King is definitely one that I will return to in the future and love for a very long time.

And now I am halfway through my June TBR list and it’s only June 4. Looks like I’ll have to find more books to read in the month of June! See you next time!


NEXT READ: Mosquitoland by David Arnold

2 thoughts on “The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater Review!

  1. I nearly bought this yesterday but I couldn’t find the preceding three novels! I went with Leigh Bardugo’s ‘Six of Crows’ instead. Have you reviewed that by any chance? Nice post 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

