The Sword of Summer Review!

Started: April 8, 2016

Finished: April 24, 2016

Rating: 3 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision. Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .


So, fair warning: This is no Percy Jackson book.

I’ll be honest: I wasn’t going to read this. I like Rick Riordan’s writing, but a book without Percy Jackson in it didn’t seem like a book that I wanted to read. I picked it up on a whim while I was at the library recently, and decided to read it. I won’t say that I was right about not wanting to read this, but I won’t say it was an entirely enjoyable read either.

The characters were great. They were spot-on in Rick Riordan’s style, and they reminded me of characters that would have existed in the Percy Jackson universe. They were funny, they were exciting, and they had such interesting backstories that I wanted to know more. My favorite character was probably Magnus, because he was just such a sarcastic character and I have a weakness for those.

The story was good. I have to say, I didn’t expect Magnus to die. I definitelydidn’t expect him to die in the first part of the book. But now that I’ve read it, I’m so happy that he did.

With the story focusing on Magnus’ life as an einherji, and the quests that come with it, it made Magnus into the hero that I wanted him to be. The plot was great, and it kept me interested in the story (at least when I had time to read).

I liked that the story was just a little bit darker than the Percy Jackson books. The PJO books were dark for children’s books, and the HOO books were a bit darker than those. This book seemed darker to me, and I’m not sure why, but I like that Riordan’s writing seems to be growing a little with his readers while still being able to be a children’s book.

On the other hand, the story is one of my main complaints about this book.

I don’t see how this book can be a series. I just can’t see how there can be a story that continues from this one with the same characters. Maybe different characters, but I just don’t see a series that could come from this.

I probably won’t be reading the second book in this series when it comes out, unless I pick it up on another whim at the library. I enjoyed the book more than I thought I would, but I wouldn’t recommend it for fans unless they’re big Rick Riordan fans or mythology fans. Overall, it was an okay book that I liked reading for the time that I was reading it.


NEXT READ: Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

