A Million Suns by Beth Revis Review

DISCLAIMER: This is the second book in the Across the Universe series by Beth Revis. Since it’s the second book, I’m giving you a SPOILER ALERT for the first one. If you haven’t read Across the Universe and you want to read it, then just ignore this review. Thank you!

Started: April 2, 2016

Finished: April 6, 2016

Rating: 4 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): It’s been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He’s finally free to act on his vision—no more Phydus, no more lies. But when Elder learns shocking news about the ship, he and Amy race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed. They must work together to unlock a mystery that was set in motion hundreds of years earlier. Their success—or failure—will determine the fate of the 2,298 passengers aboard Godspeed. But with each step, the journey becomes more perilous, the ship more chaotic, and the love between them more impossible to fight.


Let me just get something off of my chest:

THAT CLIFFHANGER. AHHHHH.

Okay, now let me get to the review.

I loved Across the Universe when I read it a year ago. After I finished it, I searched and searched for A Millions Suns. My library never had it, the libraries around me never had it, and I had just about given up hope that I would get to read this book without having to buy it. But then, last week I walked in to my library and saw it sitting there, right in the middle of the shelf that I had spent a year checking. So I checked it out and immediately went to read it. And it did not disappoint.

I love Beth Revis’ writing style because it’s one of my favorite writing styles: unapologetically brutal and blunt. The writing in this series is both of those things, and just absolutely beautiful. I had the privilege of meeting Beth Revis at SE-YA 2016, and her writing style was one of the things that she discussed. Her writing is mesmerizing and interesting, so that was a big draw of this book and this series as a whole.

Another thing about this book and series that I love is the setting. Let me just tell you all: I. Love. Space. I think space is such a great setting for a story, and Revis uses it masterfully. The descriptions of the setting are perfect, and I just really loved the atmosphere of it.

The setting is part of what makes the story so great.

The story is so interesting to me. The conflict of living on a spaceship that is slowly falling apart, the joy of newly-found love, and the issue of trying to make a choice without actually having a choice. Those are all aspects of this story that interest me. The only aspect of this story that I wasn’t a big fan of was the revolution storyline because I’m just tired of revolution plotlines. Luckily, that didn’t last very long, and I’m actually looking forward to how it plays out in the third book.

The characters are the thing about this series that just seals it as one of my favorites. The characters are written so that the reader feels sympathy for them and falls in love with all of them. I fell in love with these characters when I read the first book, and I fell in love (and out of love a little bit) with all of them once again.

One of the characters I never expected to love as much as I do is Victria. I just glossed over her in the first book, but I loved her in this book. I was heartbroken about what happened to her, and it was honestly one of the most heartbreaking moments of this entire series.

Overall, I think this book was a great sequel to the first one because it made me excited to read Shades of Earth. So now I’m off to my library to see if they have it!


NEXT READ: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

