We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Review

Started: March 29, 2016

Finished: April 2, 2016

Rating: 3 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): A beautiful and distinguished family. A private island. A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy. A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive. A revolution. An accident. A secret. Lies upon lies. True love. The truth.


I’m not sure what to say about this book.

Let’s start with why I picked it up.

I love E. Lockhart’s writing. I sped-read through the Ruby Oliver books, and every single one of them is on my favorite books shelf. So, when I saw that this one was coming out, I had high expectations. I didn’t have enough money to buy it when it came out, but when I saw it at my local used book store for $5.00, I had to buy it.

I expected to love it, or at least be able to give it four stars for “really liked it”. Instead, I can only give it three stars.

The writing was great. Lockhart’s writing style was on point, and I enjoyed it as much as I did while reading the Ruby Oliver books. There was nothing about the writing that threw me off with this book.

The characters were enjoyable, and I liked reading about them. For some reason, these spoiled, rich, pretentious kids entertained me and I wanted to know more about them. Nothing about the characters threw me off, either.

What threw me off was the story.

The story, which promised an unpredictable twist and an exciting story, was dull. I was bored, and there was nothing keeping me interested in this book. I figured out the main part of the twist, and once I knew I was right, the story lost all appeal. It was near the end of the book that I found out I was right, so I didn’t spend all of the story in resigned disappointment. I had been hoping that I was wrong and that there was a greater twist coming (which there was a part of the twist that I didn’t predict and I was pleasantly surprised).

The characters made the story bearable, but overall I was bored during the story. I liked the reading experience this book gave me, but it took me longer than it should have for me to finish it. I’m not sure I’ll recommend this book to anyone, but I like that I have it in my collections in case I ever decide to give it another chance.


NEXT READ: A Million Suns by Beth Revis

Leave a Reply

