The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie Review

Started: February 18, 2016

Finished: March 12, 2016

Rating: 3 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): Bindy Mackenzie believes herself to be the smartest, kindest girl at Ashbury High. Unfortunately, she is alone in that belief. To prove her likeability, Bindy decides to document her life in transcripts, essays, and e-mails. What this reveals is a girl who’s funny, passionate, hilariously self-righteous…and in danger. Someone wants to kill Bindy Mackenzie. The clues are in the documents. The detectives are the very students who hate her most. And time is running out.


 

Wow, this book took a long time to read.

I’m not going to sugarcoat it, this book was slow. It had so much material that just seemed irrelevant. This book could have been a hundred pages shorter and still gotten all of the important information and character development that was needed for the book. The book was just too long, and there was too much information.

The characters didn’t make the length any more bearable. The main character, Bindy Mackenzie, was just so annoying. There were times that I had to stop because I just couldn’t take her anymore. As the novel went on, I started to see parts of myself in Bindy. I started to hate her a little less, and even started to root for her a little bit more.

The last forty-ish pages of the book were the best part. The book suddenly took a twist (not going to spoil it!) and the made the book instantly easier to read. The story moved quickly, information got told in a timely way, and the characters improved immensely. It kept me interested in the story and the characters, and I actually wanted to turn the page to know what was going to happen next.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this book nearly as much as I wanted to. It was an okay read. It had a creative story, and an interesting twist, but the writing was not even close to telling the story in a way that I could enjoy. For people who love details more than an overall story, this book may be nice for you, but for me it was something that I just couldn’t get into. I probably won’t be reading anymore Jaclyn Moriarty in the future, but the overall story was enjoyable if I put aside the extraneous details.


NEXT READ: The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff
Leave a Reply

