Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella Review

Started: January 24, 2016

Finished: January 27, 2016

Rating: 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.


Sophie Kinsella has done it again with this fantastic young adult novel. Finding Audrey did what no other book that I’ve read before has done: it captured what it feels like to have an anxiety disorder.

I’ve had my experiences with anxiety and never before have I seen my own feelings mirrored in a book.

Audrey was exactly what I wanted in a protagonist: she was smart, witty, and had a good background. That description sounds a little boring until you get down into Audrey’s character. A girl who has had traumatic things happen to her and she is trying very hard to get past them. She made plenty of mistakes, as a person in her situation is very capable of making. I found myself scolding her in my head at these mistakes, and I found myself cheering for her at her moments of triumph.

Audrey wasn’t the only great character in this book, though. I can’t write a proper review of this book without mentioning Linus.

I loved Linus. Not more than Audrey, but I really liked him. I liked how much he focused on Audrey and didn’t let her hide if her “lizard brain” told her to hide. Linus was such a good person and a good character and I love him.

The story was fantastically written and moved with a pace that allowed me to read this book quickly in between other things. There wasn’t a dull moment, and I liked that. One thing I like about Kinsella’s novels is that she doesn’t leave anything open or lazily rolling along through the novel. She keeps every aspect of the story intact and in perfect agreement with all of the other aspects.

If you’re looking for a new book to read and want one that will warm your heart, give Finding Audrey a try.


 

NEXT READ: How To Save a Life by Sara Zarr
Leave a Reply

